Christopher Gardner Memorial Service Award

The Christopher Gardner Memorial Award has been retired in Uh-To-Yeh-Hut-Tee Lodge.

For many years, a fixture at Seminole Lodge 85 events was Christopher Gardner. Chris was well respected by both youth and adult Arrowmen. Chris, upon whom Seminole Lodge 85 bestowed the Vigil name “Generous Red Star”, led a life of service. He served in our Armed Forces, during which service he sustained damage to his kidneys, and eventually lost one. This began years of doctors visits and even a failed transplant. This, however, never seemed to dampen his spirits. Chris was cheerful, happy man who never lost hope. He put up tents and trailers at OA events and rendezvous, and touring these was always a fun time for everybody. In service to Scouting, Chris never faltered. He was always looking to teach youth about Scouting and Scout skills. Chris, all the way up until his untimely passing in 1998, was hugely inspirational to many people. In fact, at his funeral, many of his re-enactment friends showed up in their period garments and were interspersed throughout the crowd, making for one of the most memorable sights ever for many there.

Today, Chris lives on in the memories of many Scouters. The Past Chiefs’ Advisory Committee, joining with the Lodge Chief and Lodge Advisor, take great pleasure in continuing the legacy of Chris through the Christopher Gardner Memorial Service Award. The Christopher Gardner Memorial Award, authorized by the Lodge in 2003, is presented annually to two Scouts or Scouters who have given exceptional cheerful service over an extended period of time. Recipients of the award are presented a medal, bearing the name of the award and a likeness of Chris Gardner, which is approved for wear at all Lodge events.

2016 William Mastrangeli Mark Berry
2015 Bryce Malone Beth Doyle
2014 Mitchell Guida Tom McMullen
2013 Matt Draganchuk Adam James
2012 Matthew McIntosh Mark Caskie
2011 Dale Gerstenberger Frank Marion
2010 Travis Gibson Bill Daggett
2009 Kyle Stottlemyer James W. Gray, III
2008 Cory Villers William Guglielmi
2007 Christopher Russell Joseph Gonzales, Sr.
2006 David McIntosh Marty Siemsen
2005 Justin Baggett Susan Freemon
2004 Justin Chacos Jim Farley
2003 Justin Ryan Arthur Rounds