Vigil Honor Members

The Vigil Honor was first bestowed upon E. Urner Goodman by the Unami Lodge in 1915, and has since been conferred annually as a national recognition upon OA members for noteworthy service to others through the OA and Scouting. New Vigil Honor members are nominated, approved, and inducted annually in virtually all current OA lodges.

Lodges nominate Brotherhood members for the Vigil Honor according to specific national requirements, with nominations limited according to lodge size and a balance between youth and adult members. Those members whose lodges’ nominations have been approved by the National OA office are inducted during a special overnight ceremony, and are bestowed with a name of honor translated in both a Native American/American Indian language as well as English. The National OA office issues a Vigil Honor certificate recognizing this honor with the honoree’s given name and the Vigil Honor name in both translations.

Founder’s Award

The Order of the Arrow Founder’s Award was first introduced at the 1981 National Order of the Arrow Conference (NOAC), following the death of Goodman. This award honors Arrowmen for unselfish service above and beyond their normal duties to their lodge. Lodges are not required to give the Founder’s Award if they feel that no one is worthy of it.

Lee LaCroix

Outstanding youth ceremonial team member.

John C. Whitehurst

Outstanding youth Vigil Honor class member.

Leon Murillo

Outstanding youth drum and dance team member.

Christopher Gardner Memorial Award

First authorized by the Seminole Lodge in 2003, is presented annually to two Scouts or Scouters who have given exceptional cheerful service over an extended period of time. Recipients of the award are presented a medal, bearing the name of the award and a likeness of Chris Gardner, which is approved for wear at all Lodge events.